Tuesday, August 14, 2012

Seishun Forget!

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/seishun-forget-r710

This hot girl loses her short-term memory every day and some new guy tries to go after her anyway.  They find out some stuff, other stuff happens, and stuff.  Lots of pseudoscience about memory shit.  I wouldn't say its funny, I guess its charming.  It was more fun when she was all like "who are you and why are you bothering me" than later on but I guess that couldn't last forever.  I mean, its not like manga has ever dragged out a one-liner like that out forever *cough*The Hating Girl, Ranma 1/2*cough*

It hasn't offended or made me go wtf yet.  So I guess read it?  I dunno.

Thursday, August 2, 2012

Minamoto-kun Monogatari

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/minamoto-kun-monogatari-r1653

tl;dr Virgin loser's hot aunt tries to get him laid for research reasons

This guy goes into college and lives with his young aunt with stupidly huge boobs who teaches there.  He's scared of girls but, get this, actually has a reason other than pathetic Japanese male loser.  He was small growing up and has a girlish face that's really attractive and some aggressive girls used to bully him, so he's a bit guarded.  Even though he's a virginal loser he actually tries to get somewhere with the girls around him.  Amazing, a manga where the main character gets a handful by actually reaching out purposefully and grabbing other than just "tripping" into her.

So his hot aunt is a scholar, who's always in a miniskirt, and as studied some old Japanese story about a Don Juan like character that seduced a bunch of women.  She wants her nephew to "reenact" these conquests for purposes of her research, to make sense of which is baffling at best.  So whatever, she starts throwing him at hot girls.  Kind of hot I guess.

Tonari no Seki-kun

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/tonari-no-seki-kun-r5009

tl;dr  Girl sits next to weird guy in class who goofs off in elaborate ways

Actually, the tl;dr is about all you need to know.  Lots of word puns that were probably just as lame in the original Japanese as puns are in English.  Sometimes amusing.

Sora no Otoshimono

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/sora-no-otoshimono-r30

tl;dr Funny gag comic with T&A and the occasional poignant moment

So a guy has this angel robot move in with him.  He lives alone and she has no emotions and does whatever he asks and, like Major Nelson from I Dream of Jeannie, his first request to this piece of hotness that will do whatever he wants for some reason isn't "blow me until no more comes out RIGHT NOW."

Other robot angels show up and there's some fighting and stuff.  They end up liking weird pervert main character for some reason.  They have a terrible boss who is a real angel who's in charge while the others are asleep or something.  I dunno.  The main character's liberal attitude to being nude in public and the lengths he will go to in order to achieve his perverted goals are the real reason to read this otherwise weird mess.

Koimoku

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/koimoku-r506

tl;dr Manga about making manga loaded with Japanacheese and fan-service, somehow isn't complete shit.

So this guy wants to make comics and starts out as a craptastic assistant to other artists.  Some woman who is a publisher with a bad reputation and stupidly huge boobs sees something special in the young protagonist, which is complete bullshit but works out anyway.  So our virginal loser main character makes a one-shot and it does well and then some stuff happens and he gets a young assistant who's all loli-like and a bunch of hot women all want him yet he still never gets laid and I'm really embarrassed to admit I'm still reading this wank-fest.  There's a lot of Japanacheese of doing stuff for the feelings of the fans and for great justice and other crap I don't care about.

There is in this manga a certain degree of honesty about the shit state of the Japanese comic and animation industry.  Mainly in how its basically just following the desires of a small group of hardcore fans who use these things as escapism into a fantasy that they want catered to their whims.  There's lots of talk about how to appeal to the readers and how to service their fantasies and frankly it makes this whole industry seem like, in the words of Seanbaby, a donky-humping disaster.

Cigarette Liar

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/cigarette-liar-r6170

Some girl behind a school building bums a smoke off a friend who then leaves.  Another girl who's like a hall monitor or something catches the first one and has apparently been on the smoking girl's case quite a bit.  It's a one-shot so that's about it, other than some kissing.  Short, cute, only objectionable if you're homophobic. 

Papa no Iukoto wo Kikinasai! -Chronicles of Street Observation Research-

http://www.batoto.net/comic/_/comics/papa-no-iukoto-wo-kikinasai-chronicles-of-street-observation-research-r2944

tl;dr Semi-generic fan service story set in college that jumps the shark at chapter 8.


Okay so this guy gets tricked into joining a college club that only observes others or something.  That bit is never very clear.  Main character is a "OMGBOOBIES!" type-loser that gets annoying very quickly.  Main girl has impossibly big tits and no personality or emotion.  Womanizing best friend is the most interesting part of the whole story.  Main character was an orphan raised by his much older sister and her husband.  At chapter 8 sister and husband are missing after a plane crash and main character's 3 nieces come to live with him.  They quickly become part of the fan service turning this manga from mildly amusing to outright creepy.  Seriously, wtf is wrong with Japan?

Jumped! Reviews

So there's like a metric assload of mangos out there.  I read them, write a brief on why they probably suck, and post it here.  Because I'm bored and shit.